Local Community

City of Brimbank

The City of Brimbank is a local government area located within the metropolitan area of Melbourne, Victoria, Australia. It comprises the western suburbs between 10 and 20 km west and northwest from the Melbourne city centre.

The City has an area of 123 km² and at the 2011 Census, Brimbank had a population of 182,735.



City of Melton

The City of Melton is a local government area in Victoria, Australia, on Melbourne’s western rural–urban fringe.

It covers 527.3 square kilometres (203.6 sq mi), and at the 2011 Census had population of 109,259.

It is governed by the Melton City Council. The seat of local government and administrative offices are located at Council headquarters in Melton, the settlement after which the city takes its name which lies at the western end of the LGA and is currently its largest urban area with a population of approximately 35,490.

City of Melton has a rapid population growth rate, ranked 3rd fastest among LGAs in Victoria in 2010. It was granted city status in 2012.